15th International Conference on Quantum Physics and Logic
QPL 2018

Halifax, Canada
June 3–7, 2018

Quantum Physics and Logic is an annual conference that brings together researchers working on mathematical foundations of quantum physics, quantum computing, and related areas, with a focus on structural perspectives and the use of logical tools, ordered algebraic and category-theoretic structures, formal languages, semantical methods, and other computer science techniques applied to the study of physical behaviour in general. Work that applies structures and methods inspired by quantum theory to other fields (including computer science) is also welcome.

QPL 2018 will be held at Dalhousie University from June 3–7, 2018. It will be co-located with MFPS 2018, which takes place from June 6–9. The two conferences will have a joint special session and a joint invited speaker.

Previous QPL events were held in Nijmegen (2017), Glasgow (2016), Oxford (2015), Kyoto (2014), Barcelona (2013), Brussels (2012), Nijmegen (2011), Oxford (2010), Oxford (2009), Reykjavik (2008), Oxford (2006), Chicago (2005), Turku (2004), and Ottawa (2003).

Important dates

  • April 1: abstract submission
  • April 6: paper submission
  • May 11: notification of authors
  • May 25: final papers ready
  • June 3–7: conference

Invited speakers and invited tutorials

Invited speakers

  • Dominic Horsman (University of Grenoble)
  • Debbie Leung (University of Waterloo)
  • Robert Spekkens (Perimeter Institute)


  • Teiko Heinosaari (University of Turku): "Compatibility of Quantum Measurements and Channels"
  • Ciáran Lee (University College London): "Computation in General Probabilistic Theories"

Joint session with MFPS

There will be a joint session with MFPS 2018. Details TBA.


Prospective speakers are invited to submit one (or more) of the following:

  • Original contributions consist of a 5-12 page extended abstract that provides sufficient evidence of results of genuine interest and enough detail to allow the program committee to assess the merits of the work. Submission of substantial albeit partial results of work in progress is encouraged.
  • Extended abstracts describing work submitted/published elsewhere will also be considered, provided the work is recent and relevant to the conference. These consist of a 3 page description and should include a link to a separate published paper or preprint.

The conference proceedings will be published in Electronic Proceedings in Theoretical Computer Science (EPTCS) after the conference. Only "original contributions" are eligible to be published in the proceedings.

Submissions should be prepared using LaTeX, and must be submitted in PDF format. Use of the EPTCS style is encouraged. Submission is done via EasyChair: https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=qpl2018.

There will be an award for the best student paper at the discretion of the programme committee. Papers eligible for the award are those where all the authors are students at the time of submission.

This information is also available in the official Call for Papers.

Registration and local information


There will be a joint QPL/MFPS conference dinner on Wednesday, June 6.

We have reserved a block of rooms at the University Residences. For details, as well as a list of hotels and other accommodation choices, click here.


Program Committee

  • Giulio Chiribella (University of Oxford, co-chair)
  • Peter Selinger (Dalhousie University, co-chair)
  • Samson Abramsky (University of Oxford)
  • Antonio Acín (Institute of Photonic Sciences)
  • Richard Blute (University of Ottawa)
  • Anne Broadbent (University of Ottawa)
  • Dan Browne (University College London)
  • Bob Coecke (University of Oxford)
  • Lídia del Rio (ETH Zurich)
  • Ross Duncan (University of Strathclyde)
  • Teiko Heinosaari (University of Turku)
  • Chris Heunen (University of Edinburgh)
  • Matthew Hoban (University of Oxford)
  • Dominic Horsman (University of Durham)
  • Bart Jacobs (Radboud University)
  • Kohei Kishida (Dalhousie University)
  • Aleks Kissinger (Radboud University)
  • Joachim Kock (Universitat Autònoma Barcelona)
  • Ciáran Lee (University College London)
  • Matt Leifer (Chapman University)
  • Martha Lewis (University of Amsterdam)
  • Paul-André Melliès (CNRS, Université Paris Diderot)
  • Michael Moortgat (Utrecht University)
  • Mio Murao (University of Tokyo)
  • Daniel Oi (University of Strathclyde)
  • Ognyan Oreshkov (Université Libre de Bruxelles)
  • Prakash Panangaden (McGill University)
  • Anna Pappa (University of Edinburgh)
  • Dusko Pavlovic (University of Hawaii)
  • Simon Perdrix (CNRS, University of Grenoble)
  • Paolo Perinotti (Università di Pavia)
  • Neil J. Ross (Dalhousie University)
  • Ana Belén Sainz (Perimeter Institute)
  • Pawel Sobocinski (University of Southampton)
  • Robert Spekkens (Perimeter Institute)
  • Isar Stubbe (Université du Littoral)
  • Benoît Valiron (Université Paris-Saclay)
  • Jamie Vicary (University of Oxford)
  • Mingsheng Ying (University of Technology Sydney)
  • Margherita Zorzi (Università di Verona)

Local Organizers

  • Neil J. Ross (Dalhousie University)
  • Peter Selinger (Dalhousie University)

Steering Committee

  • Bob Coecke (University of Oxford)
  • Prakash Panangaden (McGill University)
  • Peter Selinger (Dalhousie University)


We gratefully acknowledge financial support from:


For further information about QPL 2018, please email qpl2018@easychair.org.