Atlantic Category Theory Group
Halifax, Canada

The Atlantic Category Theory Group is an interdisciplinary research group composed of faculty, postdocs, and graduate students at Dalhousie University, Saint Mary's University, and Mount Allison University.

Research Interests

Our research interests focus on pure and applied category theory, including double categories, bicategories, enriched categories, higher dimensional category theory, adjunctions, homotopy theory, applications to quantum field theory, categorical lattice theory, complete distributivity, Hopf algebras, homological algebra, operator theory, categorical logic, the mathematical foundations of computer science, the semantics of programming languages, models of quantum computing, computational category theory, constructive mathematics, topos theory, and the categorical theory of database systems. To find out about the interests of individual faculty members, you can follow the links to their home pages.


We welcome applications from prospective graduate students and/or postdoctoral researchers. Please contact the individual faculty members for more information.


The group meets weekly in the Atlantic Category Theory Seminar.


The group or its members are involved in organizing the following events:

Upcoming events:

Past events:


  Geoff Cruttwell (Mount Allison)
Robert Dawson (Saint Mary's)
Darien DeWolf (St. Francis Xavier)
Toby Kenney (Dalhousie)
Theo Johnson-Freyd (Dalhousie)
Mitja Mastnak (Saint Mary's)
Bob Paré (Dalhousie)
Dorette Pronk (Dalhousie)
Bob Rosebrugh (Mount Allison)
Julien Ross (Dalhousie)
Peter Selinger (Dalhousie)
Richard Wood (Dalhousie)

Postdoctoral Researchers:

  Christopher Dean (Dalhousie)
Jonathan Gallagher (Dalhousie)
Andre Kornell (Dalhousie)
Dongho Lee (Dalhousie)

Graduate Students:

  Fahimeh Bayeh (Dalhousie)
Adrien Delazzer Meunier (Dalhousie)
Linh Dinh (Dalhousie)
Aaron Fairbanks (Dalhousie)
Marcello Lanfranchi (Dalhousie)
Ruizhi Liu (Dalhousie)
Robert Morisette (Dalhousie)
Deni Salja (Dalhousie)
Daniel Teixeira (Dalhousie)
Scott Wesley (Dalhousie)

Undergraduate Students:

  Andrew Allen (Dalhousie)
Rory Whalen-Edwards (Dalhousie)

Research Associates:

  Jeff Egger
Gabor Lukacs
Martin Szyld
Geoff Vooys

Former Members:

  Evangelia Aleiferi
Matthew Amy
Catherine Antwi
Marzieh Bayeh
Margaret Beattie
Owen Bennett-Gibbs
Alexis Bernadet
Xiaoning Bian
Frank Fu
Alexander Green
Seth Greylyn
Kohei Kishida
Michael Lambert
JS Lemay
Sarah Li
Rory Lucyshyn-Wright
Peter LeFanu Lumsdaine
Octavio Malherbe
Justin Makary
Micah McCurdy
Zach Murray
Aeriana Narbonne
Ravi Rai
Francisco Rios
Alanod Sibih
Benoît Valiron
Michael A. Warren
Abraham Westerbaan